Fieldings Anti-Hitler Ashtray

Flag_of_the_United_KingdomThis is the rarest of the propaganda items put out by Fieldings of Staffordshire, England in 1940 to take advantage of the, then recent, “Violation of Poland” by Hitler’s armies. On the top it says “Caught In The Allies Web” while down below says “Drop Your Ashes On Old Nasty”. Inside is a cartoon image of Hitler, probably by David Low, a prominent political cartoonist of the period. The design is a tongue in cheek one executed by the outstanding designer Enoch Boulton. These items were viewed as being a little bad taste at the time, especially the faux chamber pots.

These ash trays are very hard to find in good condition. This one took me three years to find.

rsz_fieldingsweb2 rsz_fieldingsweb1

4 Responses to “Fieldings Anti-Hitler Ashtray”

  1. Alix Tobey Southwick Says:

    I have one of these, intact, and I am wondering what the value might be. It was given to me by my father who served in the US Army Medical Corps in Europe in WWII.

    • The value is what people are prepared to pay. Having said that I have only seen a handful of these in the last 10 years, priced between 300 and 600$. 600 is a bit rich IMHO but they are very rare. I wouldn’t sell it for less than $300. The little pots are much more common and go for around $100 each.

      • Alix Tobey Southwick Says:

        Thank you. I appreciate your prompt reply. There wasn’t much that I could find on the internet for it until I found this site. I did see quite a few of the chamber pot ash trays, and one of these that had a large chip out of the rim from a post of about 7 years ago. Mine is in excellent condition and looks identical to the one in the above photo.

      • Oh lucky you. I think they are awesome little propaganda pieces and there are quite a few collectors of that sort of thing out there. You are right, there’s not a lot of info on them. I pieced together what I know from quite a few places inlcuding an IWM article/exhibition on the Home Front.

Leave a Reply

